Posted in Flash Fiction

They’ve Put Me In Charge of Marketing

“Sorry mum, can’t really chat right now, it’s manic here. The new job? Great. Honest mum, it’s good. I’ve got an amazing view of the city from my office and my boss is a dream. Doesn’t bother me, just lets me get on with the work. In fact, I’ve just got a promotion. They’ve put me in charge of marketing. Tell dad I’ll soon have enough saved to pay him back what I owe. Not sure I’ll be able to get home this weekend. Going out with some people from work and then looking for somewhere new to live. Sorry, mum must go, got an important meeting with some new clients. Speak to you soon. Love to dad.”

Maureen felt a tear trickle down her cheek as she put her mobile back in her bag. Sitting there, nursing her third latte, she looked at the crowds outside, watching her daughter lug her advertising board down the busy street.

MikeJackson©2017

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

I look forward to reading your comments

