Posted in Drabbles

Involve The Police and The Lady Dies

I lit another cigarette and waited, my eyes fixed on the phone opposite me.

Even though I’d been expecting it the shrill tone of the phone ringing made me jump. I lifted the receiver and listened.

A muffled voice said, “Do exactly what I say and everything will be alright. Twenty thousand in used notes. We’ll tell you where. Involve the police and the lady dies.” Then the phone went dead.

I leant against the wall and slowly finished the cigarette wondering if the lady in question, my wife, was worth twenty thousand pounds.

On balance I decided she wasn’t.

 

MikeJackson©2017

A 100-word story for Friday Fictioneers.

Photo courtesy of – J Hardy Carroll

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

15 thoughts on “Involve The Police and The Lady Dies

  1. I believe anyone’s life is “worth it” but when you start paying kidnappers you’re only asking for more.
    The book “Chasing the Sun” tells if a man who bankrupted himself to pay the ransom and when she got home she was most ungrateful. You wonder if he should have left her with them.

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

