Posted in Stories

Women Can Read Maps

compass-626072_1280

 

I fluttered my eyelashes as Sidney unfolded the map and spread it out on the table. What a bore this man was! Had we only been married three days, it felt like forever. Beneath my practiced sweet smile, I gritted my teeth and thought of his money.

“Are you sure you’re feeling well enough for this my precious, you look a little pale?” said Sidney, wrapping his slimy arm around my waist.

“I’m sorry Sidney,” I replied, gently wriggling free of his embrace, “It’s just being close to you my darling always makes me feel a little light-headed. Please go on.”

Sidney smiled and looked at me over those ridiculous glasses of his, perched precariously on the tip of his nose. “I was saying, my dearest, this is a map. You may not have seen one before. Don’t look so worried my darling, I wouldn’t expect you to understand it or be able to follow it, I wanted to show you the route I’ve planned for our little excursion this afternoon.”

“Oh Sidney, you are so clever.”

I snuggled up closer and gave him another of my girly looks. Sidney carried on.

“Well my precious, if you look carefully you will see parts of the map are coloured blue, that’s the sea. The wiggly line is the route we will take along the coastal path. I’ve gone over it in red ink to make it a little clearer for you, my sweetest. I’m not going too fast for you sweetheart, am I? You look a little puzzled. So inconsiderate of me to expect you to take in all this detail at one go. I do apologise my darling. Probably best we leave it at that for now. Why don’t you go and have a little lie down before we set off? Leave all the organising to your dependable husband.”

I squeezed his arm, gave him a quick peck on his cheek and thanked him for his kindness. As I made my way back to our room I couldn’t help but think what an utterly boring and stupid man my new husband was. If only he knew of the hours I’d spent yesterday studying this very map. I had a clear picture of the route we would be taking. Even more important – I knew exactly where poor Sidney would have his fatal accident.

I had a clear picture of the route we would be taking. Even more important – I knew exactly where poor Sidney would be having his fatal accident.

MikeJackson©2017

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

One thought on “Women Can Read Maps

I look forward to reading your comments

