Me and My Shadow

 

jellico3
PHOTO PROMPT © Jellico’s Stationhouse

Says he’s leaving, even bought himself a bike so he’d have his own transport, but we both know he won’t. He gets like this sometimes, says he wants a life of his own, tired of following me around. I tell him that would be OK with me, I never asked him to tag along. But, if the truth be known, we’d miss each other if he moved on. We’ve sort of got used to each others ways over the years. I’ve told him though, if he stays the bike’s got to go – can’t have that following me wherever I go.

MikeJackson©2017

A 100 word story for this week’s prompt from Friday Fictioneers.

21 thoughts on “Me and My Shadow

  1. Enjoyed the story. For some reason I didn’t read it was a story about a couple, I read it as a tale of two homeless people.

    1. When I wrote this in my mind (and that is a strange place) I was thinking of the character talking to his shadow. Thanks for your comments.

    1. Hi Tracey, thanks for your comments. I was hooked into shadows so had the main character talking to his shadow who was keen to leave him.

  2. That was a great monologue. It would indeed look funny to have a bicycle shadow following you around all day. Maybe it’s a hint from the shadow that the protagonist should start biking.

I look forward to reading your comments

