He’s Late

diner-roger-bultot
PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

I thrust my hands further into my coat pocket and pulled my collar tighter around my neck. I looked again at my watch. He was late, over thirty minutes late, not like him. I looked across the road at the diner, wondering if I should go inside and wait. No, he’d been quite insistent we meet outside.

I spun round when I heard a voice, one I instantly recognised.

“He’s not coming my love. The man of your dreams, the one you were leaving me for, he’s  been detained… permanently! Give me your case sweetheart, it’s time I took you home.”

MikeJackson©2016

A 100 word story for this week’s prompt at Friday Fictioneers.

6 thoughts on “He’s Late

I look forward to reading your comments

