Posted in Drabbles

If Only…

bjc3b6rn-14
PHOTO PROMPT © Björn Rudberg

We always knew that playing a concert in that war torn country would be a risk. Our group came under fire on the last night as we made our way back to the hotel. I was unlucky. Wrong place at the wrong time. The bullet narrowly missed my neck but buried itself in my ribs. Nothing fatal, but the damage caused was enough to put an untimely end to what was destined to be a glittering career. I now sit in one of the practice rooms. A spare instrument for students to practice on and young children to play with.

MikeJackson©2016

A 100 word story for this week’s prompt from Friday Fictioneers.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

23 thoughts on “If Only…

    1. I also noticed that death has come up a bit too. The cello image has definitely produced some reflective work.
      On a personal note, while we held a vigil as my grandmother was dying, my cousin played her cello. She played “The Swan” and I remember thinking about how you could express those emotions through music, which you couldn’t put into words.
      This prompt has definitely generated some incredible perspectives.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, you’re right, a lot about death. And though that’s often the case – it being easier to create such drama in 100 words than something quieter and more reflective – perhaps there’s something about the cello that inspires our minds in that direction? It has the most wonderful, melancholic tone. And music conveys emotion so well, you’re right – what a lovely thing for your cousin to do

        Like

I look forward to reading your comments

