Posted in Micro Fiction

The Lake 

loch-1343170_640

We pitched our tent late at night, unsure of our exact location. There were four of us, Jim, myself and our two younger brothers. We chatted long into the night, Jim and I telling outlandish stories of monsters eating young boys for breakfast, scaring them rigid. Early the next morning I scrambled out of the tent to find we were in a remote spot on the side of a lake. Not another soul in sight. As the mist covering the water cleared a monster clambered ashore. It looked straight at me, licked its lips and said, “Did someone mention breakfast?”

MikeJackson©2016

My Drabble Project – Day 29 Story 93

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

One thought on “The Lake 

I look forward to reading your comments

