Dead

burial-1299277_640

We stood huddled in a small group and watched as the rain danced on the coffin lid. Despite the lousy weather, we’d all come to make sure you were really dead. Anthony, eyes lowered, was remembering the daily beatings you had given him. I wrapped an arm around his shoulders as memories of your nightly visits to my room forced their way back into my mind. According to our old neighbours you illness had given you a lot of pain over the last six months. Something I was heartened to hear. We’re so glad your no longer with us Dad.

MikeJackson©2016

My Drabble Project – Day 27 Story 87

I look forward to reading your comments

