Missing You 

hand-792923_640

It took them longer to stop the bleeding this time. Don’t worry, I’m sure nobody knows the truth. I told our friends I’d fallen, bumped my head. They weren’t surprised. Said it was to be expected considering how much I’d been drinking. I meant to leave you a letter, but the words wouldn’t come. I’m tired, so tired, I can’t take any more. This way is much easier. That biting wind doesn’t seem as cold now as I step into the river. I can feel the currents tugging at my body, pulling me under.  My final thoughts are of you.

MikeJackson©2016

My Drabble Project – Day 20, Story 56

I look forward to reading your comments

