Posted in Drabbles

264 Days

door-lock-1575134_1280

I’ve been in here for 264 days. The orderlies say I can go whenever I like but they know I’ll stay. 263 days ago this place was full of people like me, humans, now it’s just me. Most went in the first week, clambering over the unguarded gate, the android orderlies in charge of this place no longer caring who went where. It was not long after that when we heard the screams. Then the food ran out and those left started to die. I’m surviving on the carcass of my roommate but I know it won’t last. Then what?

 

MikeJackson©2016

Day 14 of my Drabble Project
(100 x 100 word stories in the month of October).
Story 37.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

One thought on “264 Days

I look forward to reading your comments

