Posted in Micro Fiction

The Clock

pair-746544_640

My fingers wrap around the stone in my pocket, your sticky blood still warm to the touch. I was going to throw it in the lake, alongside your bound and weighted body, but I kept it instead. A reminder of the day I finally found the courage to do what I’d wanted to do for  many years. I’m thinking of putting it on the mantelpiece, alongside that hideous clock your mother gave us as a wedding present. Like our marriage, it never worked. They’ll be a constant reminder to me of the two women I hated most in the world.

MikeJackson©2016

This is day 6 of my Drabble Project (100 x 100 word stories in the month of October.
This is story 17.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

2 thoughts on “The Clock

I look forward to reading your comments

