Posted in Micro Fiction

Wheels

boys-286179_640

The wheels never stop turning, day or night. Round and round they go, one revolution after another. Two of them, inexplicably linked. Designed to make every journey I take appear to be never ending. I’ve been on them for days now, my little legs racing like mad, my tiny heart pounding away inside my chest, fit to burst.  I can see no end to this nightmare. Why are they doing this to me? There must be a purpose to this madness, a simple explanation – mustn’t there? Next time those eager young eyes look into the cage, maybe I’ll ask them.

MikeJackson©2016

Story 15 of my October Drabble Project.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

I look forward to reading your comments

