The Bell

bell-1090308_640

“Whatever you do boy, don’t ring that bell.”

Samuel stopped dead in his tracks and looked towards the quiet, menacing voice. In his hurry to reach the warning bell he hadn’t noticed the stranger emerge from the swirling, crimson mist.

“I’ve got to mister,’ he said, none too convincingly, “It’s my job. If I don’t ring the bell then the people in the village wont be ready.”

“I’m sorry son, I can’t let you do that,” whispered the stranger, slowly pulling out a strange, fearsome looking weapon from the inside of his long, black coat. The bell remained ominously quiet.

MikeJackson©2016

Day 2 of my 30 Day Challenge – 100 x 100 word stories in October. (Story 5)

 

 

One thought on “The Bell

I look forward to reading your comments

