Dear John

postbox-1290888_640

 

Dear John,

You are probably surprised to be getting a personal letter through the post, I mean, it’s not the way people  communicate nowadays, is it? It’s more likely to be a quick text, a phone call or an email. I thought a proper letter would be more intimate for I feel that I already know so much about you. But wait, I’m sorry, I’m getting ahead of myself, I’ve just realized that you have no idea who I am.

My name is Suzie. Well actually it’s not, but for reasons that will become clearer later I thought it best I didn’t use my real name. We met last Monday, on the train. I assumed you were on your way to work. You won’t remember me, I made sure of that, but at one time I was standing right behind you. You were busy reading the paper, The Financial Times I think it was. Anyway that’s when I relieved you of your wallet and mobile phone, some might say that I stole them but I think that’s such a vulgar word, don’t you?

I just wanted to say a very big thank you for the money. The cash was useful, I treated myself to a cooked breakfast at the station and a great lunch later at a nice pub I know in the city. More importantly though I must thank you for the credit cards. You made my life so much easier by leaving your PIN number alongside your credit cards, and keeping the same number for all of your cards was a godsend. I managed to get almost £3,000 out of your accounts before you’d even realized your wallet had gone.

I want you to know that the money will be well used. You probably think I’m going to waste it on drugs and booze but I’m not that sort of person. You may be pleased to hear that the money will be going towards some new shoes for the children and  this term’s school fees. The school they are attending is a lovely place, pricey, but as I always say,  quality costs. I have great hopes for their future. Of course it means I will have to keep on working for a few more years yet, you wouldn’t believe how much their uniforms cost, that’s why I’m so grateful to benefactors like you.

While we are on the subject of money I wonder if I could impose on you one more time. The eldest is keen to go on the school exchange to America and the youngest has recently started private violin lessons. To be honest I’m a bit short, about £5,000 to be exact. Before you say no can I just remind you of the interesting photos you had on your mobile phone.

I was intrigued by the very cheeky emails you and your wife Patsy have been exchanging. It was only when I looked at the photos in you wallet that I realised your wife’s name is Deborah. Then I found the photos of Patsy! I must say that she does look very young, and are you sure that a man of your age should be doing things like that? Forgive me, I’m really not in any position to preach but I must say I feel for Deborah, she looks like such a nice woman and a good mother. Does she know about Patsy? I’d hate to be the one to tell her, but I’m sure it won’t come to that.

I look forward to hearing from you soon. You can contact me on your own phone. Once again many thanks for your continued financial support.

Yours

Suzie

 

MikeJackson©2016

5 thoughts on “Dear John

I look forward to reading your comments

