Posted in Flash Fiction

Embracing Change

e4bbd5706794250671fe8fdea16c34b1

“But mum, are you sure about this?”

“Trust me my son, the old ways are the best. This is what my mother used to do to me and her mother to her. It will hurt a little bit, but it will be worth it.”

”But mum, all my friends say we should stop following the old ways and start to embrace modern ideas.”

You shouldn’t always listen to your friends, my son. They are ignorant of our ways.”

“But mum, cousin Leon said that Aunty Nadra stopped using the stick a long time ago.”

“OK, if you insist, we’ll do it Aunty Nadra’s way.  I’ll pop down to the chemist and get a nit comb and some nit shampoo. But I’m telling you Billy, that stuff smells horrible and all your friends will know you’re using it. Are you sure you don’t want me to just hit them with my stick every time they jump?”

MikeJackson©2016

A 150 word story for VisDare.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

2 thoughts on “Embracing Change

I look forward to reading your comments

