Posted in Flash Fiction

Late!

ab59b3996a307788a33738ea04269238
Photo by Benjamin Godard, “Catch Me If You Can” on 500px.com

Why does it always happen to me? I should’ve caught the earlier train but was afraid I might look too keen. You know what it’s like. Your first date, you don’t want to get there too early, makes you look desperate. At the same time, you don’t wan’t to be late. Girls hate it when they’re kept waiting. I’m sure this thing couldn’t go any slower if it tried. Maybe if I get off at Tottenham Court Road I can pick up the Central line and change again at Marble Arch? Still not going to get me there on time though. It’s no good, I’m going to be late! Late for a very important date. Wonder if she’ll wait. Doubt it. I could try phoning her but the agency never gave me her number. All I know is that she looked stunning in her photo and her name’s Alice.

MikeJackson©2016

A story for this week’s prompt at VisDare

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

4 thoughts on “Late!

I look forward to reading your comments

