Goodeyedeers

12544006025_596a4bdedc_z
Show Your Work by Austin Kleon, Source: Flickr Creative Commons

“Make stuff you love and talk about stuff you love and you’ll attract people who love that kind of stuff. It’s that simple.” Austin Kleon, Show Your Work!: 10 Ways to Share Your Creativity and Get Discovered

In my Wednesday posts I have been trying to share with you my writing journey and some of the ideas I have tried or want to try along the way.

The quote above is from a great book by Austin Kleon called ‘Show Your Work’,  a book that has greatly influenced my thinking about writing and creativity.

In this book the author suggest that you need to-

…lay out ways to think about your work as a never-ending process, how to build an audience by sharing that process, and how to deal with the ups and downs of putting yourself and your work out in the world.

Goodeyedeers

One of the activities I am presently engaged in is a collaboration project with a children’s poet called David Horner.

Like me, David is retired. Prior to that he was a freelance writer and performer and visited hundreds of schools delivering poetry workshops.

We are presently taking our combined expertise and experiences and creating teaching resources which we sell on the TES Resources website under the name of ‘Goodeyedeers’.

Believe it or not, it took us a whole morning and a good few cups of coffee to come up with this name and logo!

bus card.001

All the money we make from sales goes to a local children’s charity called MedEquip4Kids.

What Do We Do?

Most of our resources are poetry based.

They are a mixture of powerpoint presentations and video clips created using CrazyTalk.

Here is an example of one of our ‘CrazyTalk’ video clips. This is David reading one of his poems called ‘Kennings For Kevin’. 

The associated powerpoint presentation leads children through the process of writing their own kennings.

Tongue Twisters

Let me share another one of those resources with you. 

This one is all about creating your own Tongue Twisters.

The resource itself is a PowerPoint but I’ve saved it as a video here so that I can embed it into this post. (I’m not sure if I can embed a powerpoint? If I can, I haven’t yet worked out how!)

Hopefully it might get you to write some tongue twisters of your own.

Mike Jackson

 

I look forward to reading your comments

