Five Mistakes To Make In 2016

2016.001

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes. Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something. So that’s my wish for you, and all of us, and my wish for myself. Make New Mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody’s ever made before. Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life. Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, do it. Make your mistakes, next year and forever.” ~Neil Gaiman

Making Mistakes In 2016

I love this quote from Neil Gaiman. What a great way to approach the new year, the idea of going for whatever it is you want to do and accepting that you will make mistakes, get things wrong and in doing so will learn so much about yourself.

With this thought in mind I have decided to start 2016 with a different approach to my blog. While I will continue to post my flash fiction, poetry and short stories I am also going to regularly post about my journey as a writer. I plan to share with you the things that I would like to try in 2016 and then write about my mistakes and successes – but mainly about my mistakes and what I learn from them.

2016 mistakes.001My Mistakes For 2016

This post is all about committing to do things this coming year that have been on my ‘to do list’ for too long. By sharing them with you I’m hoping this will be the motivation I need to at least give them a try. So here are my 5 mistakes for 2016, in no particular order:

  1. Self Publish – I have been following the Self Publishing Podcast since it started more than two years ago. I’ve watched as Sean, Johnny and Dave have grown and published more and more books and I’ve always said  to myself that I would have a go at self publishing. 2016 is going to be the year. I have decided to create an anthology of my flash fiction and have it on Amazon within 6 months. As I go through the process I will share it with you through this blog.
  2. Set Myself a Word Target – I feel that I need to become more organised with my writing. One way that I plan to do that is to set myself a daily word count. To begin with it is going to be 1,000 words a day. If I stick to this, then by the end of 2016, I will have written 365,000 words. I’m hoping, once this habit has been established, to increase this daily word count target. I am going to track my progress through a simple excel chart. I’ll keep you up to  date with my progress.
  3. Write Three Novellas – I’ve had an idea for a series of novellas floating around in my head for the last three years, now is the time to get them written. The plan is for each novella to be 15 chapters long and each chapter 3,000 words, giving a word count of 45,000 words per novella. The main character is called Jimmy Jones who, moments before he plans to hang himself, comes across a trapped creature who offers him some wishes in return for freeing  him. The wishes don’t turn out to be the prize Jimmy was hoping for.
  4. Start a Podcast – myself and a fellow writer from our local writers group are planning to collaborate on starting a podcast aimed at writers. We are hoping to broadcast weekly with ideas and up to date news for writers; interviews with other writers; readings of ongoing work; writing prompts and challenges.
  5. Complete NaNoWriMo – I’ve tried NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month)twice before, succeeded once and failed once. This year I plan to take you with me as I prepare for the event and then as I go through it.

So, there we are. This is the journey I’m embarking on in 2016. I’d love to have you join me as I try new things, learn new things, push myself, change myself and change my world while making new, glorious and amazing mistakes.

Mike Jackson

6 thoughts on “Five Mistakes To Make In 2016

  1. I love that quote from Neil Gaiman, his books are fantastic, and this quote honestly has so much truth in it. I’m wishing yo luck with finishing NaNoWriMo this year, I’m sure you can. I mean, I’m hoping I can as well, because this will be my third year TRYING to complete my word count. And happy new year!!

    1. Many thanks for your comments. Like you, I thought this was a great quote. I’ve actually never read any of Neil Gaiman’s books – something else I ought to address in 2016. I’m hoping that getting into a habit of recording my daily word count will put me in a good place to complete NaNoWriMo – I’ll let you know how that goes!
      Happy new year.

    1. Many thanks Colline.
      I’ve been meaning to take the blog in a different direction for some time and the beginning of a new year seemed the ideal time to start. Thanks for joining me on my journey.
      Happy new year.

  2. I am not a resolution type of person although I do like to reflect this time of year on the past year and what I loved and what I would change if I could; taking that with me into the New Year. Not read the quote before and I love it, positive and motivating. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Thanks for your comments Peter.
      Like you, I’m not normally a new year resolutions person but I saw this quote and it resonated with me.
      Happy new year.

I look forward to reading your comments

