Posted in Poetry

The Spoils Of War

divorce-156444_1280The divorce is over.
The spoils of their marriage divided equally.
Now it’s just me they’re fighting over. 

Dad wants me with him.
Says I shouldn’t stay with ‘that hateful bitch’. 

Mum says I’d be better off with her
and there’s no way she’s letting ‘that deceitful bastard’ have me. 

The court tells me I’m old enough to make up my own mind. 

They’re wearing me out,  all of them.
I’ve had enough.

I’ve left a note.
Asking that my ashes be put into two small urns.
One for each of them.

MikeJackson©2015

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

6 thoughts on “The Spoils Of War

I look forward to reading your comments

