Posted in Haiku, Poetry

Sedoka & Katauta

‘Sedoka‘ is  an old, obscure form of Japanese poetry. It is an unrhymed poem made of two three-lined ‘katauta’ with syllable counts 5-7-7, 5-7-7. A sedoka is a pair of katauta as a single poem. As well as being a single poem, the two katauta should be able to stand alone.

tied with blue ribbons
bundles of old love letters –
ancient kisses still attached

as I close my eyes
I feel your sweet lips on mine –
in my mind you are still here

**************

a silly mistake,
that’s what my father called me –
it’s why we never got on

buried him today,
in the town where we grew up –
I decided not to go

MikeJackson©2015

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

I look forward to reading your comments

