Posted in Flash Fiction

A Bridge Too Far

troll“Are you sure about this Jimmy?”

“Stop worrying Billy. Everything’s going to be just fine.”

“I’m still not sure mate. I mean, it is your sister we’re talking about here.”

“Billy, stop going on!  Emma’s almost six now, she can look after herself. What’s more, she volunteered. It’s not like I forced her.”

I looked to see how far Emily had got and even thought of rushing after her and dragging her back but I knew I daren’t, Jimmy would kill me.

“What if it don’t work Jimmy?”

“It’ll work. I’ve put too much into this operation for it not to. You got the camera ready? I think I heard something.”

I thought back to the weeks Jimmy had spent in the library researching the bridges around here, looking for the right one. According to the legend he’d found, this was it. All he needed was someone to walk slowly across the bridge, making as much noise as possible. His little sister had been the perfect bait.

Emily stopped. She could definitely hear a voice from beneath the bridge and it didn’t sound happy. Moments later an enormous Troll clambered over the side and stood in front of her. She took out a bag of sweets, slowly turned around and started walking, dropping a trail of sweets behind her. If her big brother was right the Troll would follow, eating the sweets as he came.

“Told you it would work Billy. Look, just like I said, Trolls love sweets. We’re going to get some great pictures. The papers will pay a fortune for these.”

Jimmy was right of course, Trolls do love sweets. But with a little more research he would have discovered that, while they enjoy starting a meal with sweets, they love finishing it off with the crunchy bones of young children.

MikeJackson©2015

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

I look forward to reading your comments

