Posted in Poetry

Nighttime

Came across this idea from Chèvrefeuille at Carpe Diem Haiku Kai. It is called ‘Fibo-ku in you have to follow the Fibonacci sequence in your haiku, as follows:

1st line 1 syllable; 2nd line 1 syllable; 3rd line  2 syllables; 4th line 3 syllables and so on as is the Fibonacci sequence 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21, 34, 55, 89 and so on.

nightmare

night
time
shadows
creep across
my bedroom ceiling,
outlines of huge, monstrous beings
let free of their prison by my imagination.

MikeJackson©2015

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

2 thoughts on “Nighttime

  1. Dear Mike Jackson

    My name is Lorenzo Zuluaga, I am student at the University of the Philippines Diliman currently majoring in Film. This semester, I’m taking up Film Production as my major class and one of our main projects is to find material that we think has the potential for a short or feature length film.

    I am an avid fan of supernatural horror. I find it difficult to come by new original literature that caters to this particular type of horror. Upon finding your blog on WordPress, I stumbled on a small piece of literature that catered to that supernatural horror feel I was looking for.

    Nighttime is a haiku, or “Fibo-ku” as you called it, that you posted on August 7, 2015. Although it is short, I feel that a story could grow from it. I also wondered if perhaps the haiku might have been taken from or inspired by one of your other works.

    I would like to inquire regarding the option rights to make “Nighttime” into a screenplay, and possible future film.

    What is the current status of your story?

    Thank you for your time.
    Sincerely,
    Lorenzo Zuluaga

    Like

    1. Hi Lorenzo

      The story is not linked to any other but was done purely as a response to the prompt from Carpe Diem. I am more than happy for you to use it as you like. The idea of it being used as an impetus for a film is intriguing.
      All I ask is that you let me know how it goes. Also, any links to my blog or Twitter @mj51day would be much appreciated.

      All the best.

      Mike

      Like

I look forward to reading your comments

