Posted in Drabbles

Look Who’s Coming To Dinner

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright – Jan Wayne Fields
PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright – Jan Wayne Fields

Don’t know why I do it. Same date every year I set the table for four places for dinner. Me, Susie, Jake and Kirsty. I’m the only one who turns up. Not surprising really, all things considered. I know Jake’s not coming. How can he? I shot him five years ago when I found him in bed with my wife. My best friend he was. Now he’s buried in the cellar, under a rack of his favourite red wine. Susie, my dear wife, is right alongside him. And Kirsty? Poor old Kirsty. Just chose the wrong time to come visiting.

MikeJackson©2015

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

25 thoughts on “Look Who’s Coming To Dinner

  1. Poor guy, what a tragedy – still misses his wife after so many years… He is a perfectly sweet man, a nice neighbor and a good worker. Let’s just go knock on his door and give him a piece of this cake I just baked!

    Like

  2. Dear Mike, Awesome killer thriller! Love the way you wrote it and that cellar is probably going to get cozier down there. He seems to be a little off-balance. Really, really good job! Nan 🙂

    Like

  3. This is an interesting story.
    I’m currently doing a Systemic Functional Grammar analysis on your flash fiction. If it is not due to the word count, how would you expand the contractions and ellipses?
    Especially for this sentence fragment: ‘And Kirsty?’
    Would it be ‘And how about Kirsty?’ or ‘And where is Kirsty?’

    Cheers!

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

