Dreams For Sale

Dreams For Sale

“This your first time mate?”

“To be honest I don’t think that’s any of …”

“Thought so. Can always recognise the first timers. It’s the way you sit there, so confident like. Think you’ve got it all under control. If only you knew. So, what you selling?”

“I’d rather not …”

“I bet it’s dreams. It’s always dreams for your first time. That’s how they hook us in. They keep it nice and simple. I mean what’s a few dreams to the likes of you and me. Then there’s the money they’re offering. You’d be daft to say no. Was it their special offer you responded to?”

‘Well actually it …’

“Thought so. That’s how they get to most of us. They’ve a knack of knowing who’s in need of a bit of extra cash. I bet you didn’t notice the adverts at first, I know I didn’t. Just sitting there  on your screen, tucked away in the background. They’re clever like that. Next think you know you’re phoning that number and some sexy sounding woman on the other end is booking you in here for an appointment. Have you signed anything yet?”

“Only the …”

“Bloody hell! You have haven’t you. Don’t know why I’m sounding surprised, we all do it. Bet that charming girl on Reception told you she just needed your signature for their records. You were so busy looking into those pretty eyes of hers, you would’ve signed anything. How were you to know what you were actually signing. Don’t suppose anybody explained the contract to you?”

“I’m not …”

“Of course they didn’t. Why would they? I know when I asked they said I was simply giving them permission to harvest a few of my old dreams, ones I no longer had any need of. Course I had no idea then what they were really after. By the time I did, it was too late. I’d signed on the dotted line and was all theirs. They could take whatever they wanted. Who you with?”

“Dr. Peterson but …”

“Peterson! Bloody hell. He’s the top man! I don’t know what you’ve got hidden inside that head of yours, mate, but it must be important. Must go – having a scan to see if I’ve any nightmares they think are worth having. If not, they’re going to check out the state of my internal organs; see if there’s anything there worth salvaging. Hopefully see you around sometime! Good luck with Peterson. You’ll need it.”

MikeJackson©2014

One thought on “Dreams For Sale

I look forward to reading your comments

