Posted in Flash Fiction

What’s He Talking About?

What’s He Talking About?

‘It runs down your face and drips off your nose. It gets inside your shoes and makes a squelchy sound.’

Nobody knew what the new boy was talking about.

Dad says these immigrants from Earth have strange ways. They’re not like us.

MikeJackson©2014

The question to try and answer in a 42 word story this week is – ‘Have you ever seen the rain?’

 

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

32 thoughts on “What’s He Talking About?

  1. Love the idea. I guess colonists on Mars (being the most probable planet to live on, I assume that’s where this takes place) have better knowledge of dust storms than rain. The voice is perfect BTW. Congrats!

    Like

  2. This reminds me of something a professor of mine used to say. He always wanted us to try to explain things as though we were speaking to a Martian. Good way to drop all of your assumptions and think of how things must look to an outsider.

    Like

  3. Squelchy–that is exactly so. I liked this! It seems odd that other planets wouldn’t know what he is saying, but I suppose that they may have a similar experience?

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

