Posted in Drabbles

Your Turn Next

 

PHOTO PROMPT- Copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields
PHOTO PROMPT- Copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

“The pilot will circle around one more time, then you’ll be aiming for that big cross on the ground. It’s a reasonably clear sky, you can’t miss it.”

“But …”

“Don’t worry, everyone gets nervous at this stage. When it’s your turn I’ll give you a gentle push, just to help you on your way. It’ll be over in minutes.”

“But what about my parachute? I don’t seem to have a parachute.”

“That my friend, is what happens to those people who upset The Boss. He has to make an example of you. Are you ready now? Off you go.”

MikeJackson©2014

A 100 Word Story for this week’s prompt from Friday Fictioneers.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

38 thoughts on “Your Turn Next

  1. The tone in the beginning of the piece had me thinking the story was going one way, only to be surprised by what was actually happening. I really enjoyed the juxtaposition between the tone and reality. Well done.

    Like

    1. Not having heard of a Wankel engine I was loathe to answer one way or the other! I didn’t want to incriminate myself more than I usually do!
      Thanks for the comment, glad you enjoyed the story.

      Like

  2. Dear Mike, Bosses don’t like people who don’t agree with everything they say – Ouch – a hard lesson, probably being filmed as incentive for the rest of the workers! Nan 🙂

    Like

  3. Mike, Good and well-written story with a scary, dark humor twist at the end. O_o I’ve heard of those kinds of bosses. I looked up Wankel engine on Google, and the only thing I thought might have something to do with your style of writing was a bit about eccentric as in “eccentric rotary design.” It looks like Doug was kidding that your stories are somewhat eccentric. That, of course, is perfectly okay when it concerns a writer. Many excellent writers were no doubt considered eccentric. Well done. 🙂 —Susan

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

