Posted in Flash Fiction

The Voice

This is the picture prompt this week from ‘Light & Shade’. This is my story, though I’ve no idea where it came from?

The Voice

“I’m telling you Jimmy, this is the place. Look. There’s the bottle, right where I said it would be.”

“OK mate, so last night you got drunk and this is where you collapsed but why bring me here?”

“I don’t know. It’s just this voice keeps telling me that’s what I should do.”

“That’s all very interesting mate but now do you reckon you could get that voice of yours to tell you where the nearest pub is, I’m thirsty.”

Billy ignored his friend  and took a key from his pocket and fumbled with the padlock on the gate.

“What the hell are you doing now Billy? Where did you get that key?”

“I don’t know. The voice told me it was in my pocket. It wants us to go into this basement flat.”

“I’m sorry Billy but you’re now beginning to piss me off. I don’t know what this is all about but enough’s enough. Why don’t you just forget all about this place and we’ll go and have that drink. Come on mate, what do you say?”

“We can’t do that Jimmy, the voice says so. You’ve got to come with me or it will get really angry. Trust me you don’t want that.”

Before Jimmy had time to answer, Billy grabbed him by the arm and started dragging him through the now open gates and down the short flight of steps. As Jimmy started to struggle and try to pull away, a quiet, menacing voice filled his head:

“You’re friend was right when he said you need to go with him. Now stop struggling and do as he tells you. Believe me when I tell you, I’m not the sort of person you want to cross.”

Jimmy felt his resistance melt away and let Billy lead him by the arm to the door of the flat.

Peering from a gap in her net curtains, the old lady inside had watched all this take place. She heard a knock on the front door and smiled.

As she made her slow way to the door she shouted:

“He’s back Master, just like I said he would be and this time he’s got two young-looking lads with him. Fine, strong boys they look. Just what you need. I’ll let them in sir, give the two lads a cup of tea while you talk to him. What’s that Master? No, of course I won’t. I won’t do nothing to them sir, not till you tell me I can.”

MikeJackson©2014

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

5 thoughts on “The Voice

I look forward to reading your comments

