‘Play Time’ – A 500 word Story for The Speakeasy

A 500 word story for this week’s prompt at ‘The Speakeasy’

cat_bird3Play Time

I’d like to say it had been a fair fight but of course, it wasn’t. It knew from the start it was going to lose but that didn’t stop it from making a more than valiant effort. At one stage, just for a moment, I even thought it was going to escape. Gave me quite a jolt that did but I upped my game and everything was as it should be. It fluttered for a moment, magnificent in its struggle, then wilted and lay still.

Couldn’t quite make up my mind what to do with this one. Not sure taking it indoors would be a good idea. I tried that last week. Thought it might be a good idea to show my mistress. A sign that I’ve still got what it takes to be a hunter but, to my surprise, she was far from impressed. In fact, I’d go as far as to say she was pretty angry. Gave me a real clout on the nose and then took my trophy and threw it over the garden fence. Such strange behaviour.

I’m not sure what these creatures are called, if they have names at all. They often invade my territory but appear to be harmless, with, as far as I can make out, no intention of trying to take over. They rarely stay long and, for the most part, I take little notice of them. Then occasionally, something comes over me. An urge to hunt and kill. Goodness knows what brings it on or where it comes from, some primeval makeup in my DNA I suppose. All I know is that when that instinct kicks in I have to find a prey, track it and then go in for the kill.

A part of me thinks I should feed on this poor creature but I can never quite bring myself to that. I tried it once, in my younger days, highly unpleasant. Feathers and small bones everywhere and hardly enough meat to keep a chap going. I much prefer the stuff my mistress puts out in a bowl for me each day. So much cleaner and tastier.

Wait a minute. It looks like it might be coming to, I’m sure I just saw its wing flutter. A real fighter this one, I admire that. Question is, what do I do now? I could let it fly away I suppose, live to fight another day but then I’ve got my reputation to consider. What if news got out? It might even be misinterpreted as the creature beating me, I couldn’t have that. My standing in the local community would be in shatters.

To be honest the urge to hunt has long gone. I’m bored and I could do with a good nap. A sharp pounce to its neck with these claws of mine should put an end to this nonsense. That’s better! Time now to move on to more important things. I wonder what its name was?

MikeJackson©2014

 

24 thoughts on “‘Play Time’ – A 500 word Story for The Speakeasy

  1. I’m a total cat person (mostly animals in general) and this made me laugh out loud – I could hear it in my idiot cats voice, thinking the same things about field mice. Very cool.

  2. I think you’ve really captured the dichotomy of curiosity and nonchalance that is a cat. Great voice and a great take on the prompts! 🙂

  3. I adore cats (one is curled up next to me as I read the Speakeasy responses.) They are pretty good hunters… I like the debate of what to do next, and then the decision to move on to something better. That’s so cat 🙂

  4. The only reason I am not a catlady is that I have a whole bunch of dogs. My two resident cats have to tolerate the situation. Plus, the terriers do a better job mousing. I liked your story.

I look forward to reading your comments

