Posted in Flash Fiction

‘The Chess Match’ – A 150 Word Story For Visual Dare

After a short break ‘Visual Dare’ is back! As usual, Angela has come up with another intriguing photo prompt. This is the 150 word story it conjured up in my mind.

Source
Source

The Chess Match

My God, she’s getting worse. She’s always been a difficult woman has my Maggie but this is taking things to the extreme. I’m not giving in though, wouldn’t give her the satisfaction. Two hours I’ve been waiting for her to take her move, two bloody hours!

When we first met she was so good at chess, so quick and decisive with her moves, much better than me. Now, I think her mind must be going, old age I suppose – comes to us all in the end.

I know what she’s waiting for though. She knows I’ve got her beaten, checkmate in two moves I reckon. Expects me to lose my temper and shout at her, then she’ll cry and I’ll end up apologising and let her win but not this time my girl. This time I’m standing my ground and I’ll stand here all night if I have to.

MikeJackson©2014

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

7 thoughts on “‘The Chess Match’ – A 150 Word Story For Visual Dare

I look forward to reading your comments

