One Writer’s Random Thoughts – ‘Should I Self-Publish?’

Should I Self-Publish?

Should I self-publish? This is something I thought a lot about in 2013 but never had the courage to do anything about..

I’ve decided that 2014 is going to be the year when I just bite the bullet and do it!

courage1

Seth Godin, in his wonderful book, ‘Linchpin’  writes’

“The only purpose of starting is to finish, and while the projects we do are never really finished, they must ship. Shipping is the collision between your work and the outside world.”

What are you going to ‘ship’ in 2014?

Over the last year I have been listening to two podcasts which have taught me a lot about self-publishing and helped me come to the decision that  2014 is going to be the year I join the growing band of self-published authors.

Over the coming months I will share my journey with you.

The two podcasts, both well worth listening to, are:

1. Self Publishing Podcast

In this weekly podcast, the three presenters, Johnny B Truant, Sean Platt and David Wright not only talk about self-publishing but also share their own amazing experiences of collaborative writing and self-publishing.

Their interview with Hugh Howey, author of the Wool Trilogy, is well worth checking out.

Johnny and Sean have recently published a book about their experiences and those of others going down the self publishing road. It is called  ‘Write. Publish. Repeat’  and is an extremely informative read.

2. Rocking Self Publishing Podcast

In this weekly podcast, the host of the show, Simon Whistler, interviews indie authors who share the success they have had with self-publishing and how they made it happen.

One of my favourite shows to date was an interview with Jason Brant, entitled, ‘Should You Quit Your Job To Write?’

What are your self publishing plans for 2014? 

MikeJackson©2014

10 thoughts on “One Writer’s Random Thoughts – ‘Should I Self-Publish?’

  1. Very neat that you’re jumping into the self-publishing. Please do update us readers with your experiences in self-publishing. It’s something that I’ve wondered about doing — so I’m really interested in what you think of it. Best wishes on this new journey in your writing!

    1. Putting this news on my blog now puts me under pressure to deliver! No more procrastination.
      Do have a listen to the two blogs – some great advice from others who have already travelled the self-publishing road.
      I’ve decided to put a ‘One Writers Random Thoughts’ post up every Wednesday sharing things I have learned/discovered. I’m hoping, over time, these will include details of my self-publishing adventure.
      Thank you for your kind words of encouragement.

  2. I will follow your progress with interest. I love reading your writing and would love to have a collection of your stories on hand.
    I would also be interested in your journey on self publishing. Maybe reading your experiences may encourage me to do the same 🙂

    1. Thank you for your kind words Colline.
      I was considering that the first book I publish maybe a collection of some of my short stories – a chance to test the waters. From all that I’ve heard on the podcasts, one book is not enough, so I have a grand plan to write and publish at least three novellas this coming year (as well as the short story collection).
      The next thing I need to do is t stop talking about it and start writing!!
      I look forward to you following me down this path.

  3. Thanks for the kind words about the podcast Mike :). It’s great to hear that it has helped you make the decision to pursue self-publishing. Looking forward to seeing how your journey goes, good luck!
    Simon W
    Host @ RSP Podcast

    1. Thank you for your comments Simon.
      Your podcast has certainly been the final push I needed to get me going. I first heard about it about a month or so ago when it was mentioned on ‘Self Publishing Podcast’ after you’d interviewed Sean & Johnny. The thing I’m enjoying most is listening to the stories of ordinary people who’ve gone down the self-publishing road and made it work for them.
      Let’s hope I’m half as successful as some of them.

  4. 9″I’m going to finish writing my second romance novel. An adult Contemporary with a paranormal element running through parts of the storyline. I’ve got 34 Chapters written, consisting of 234 single-spaced formatted 6″ x 9″ pages [just like a book] and approximately 68,400 words, The working title for this endeavor is “His Darkest Secret”

    I love to write Flash Fiction and five of what I’ve written [with a little tweaking] are scheduled to be published in an anthology of short stories involving HIV/AIDS as its theme. Which is giving me the idea of putting together an anthology of the Flash Fictions I’ve written.

    1. Thanks for your comments Robin.
      Sounds like you are well on your way with ‘His Darkest Secret’. Will you be self-publishing this when it’s finished?
      I also enjoy writing Flash Fiction as you can see from my blog. I hadn’t thought of taking some of this work and self publishing it – must add that to my list of things to do for 2014.

I look forward to reading your comments

