Posted in Random Thoughts

New Year’s Resolutions 2014 – Why Bother?

It’s that crazy time of the year again when lots of people will be thinking about New Year’s Resolutions.

Photo Source - Daniel Moyle
Photo Source – Daniel Moyle

We rarely stop and think that many, if not all of them, will be the same as last year. It’s as if we have forgotten why they failed last year and the year before and the year before that.

We always tell ourselves that this time it will be different, but deep down, we know it won’t.

Why do we make them? – One of the problems is that we get caught up in that New Year euphoria. All our friends are talking about how this is the year they change their life and we don’t want to be left out.

You know very well, despite what you might say, that you are not going to keep any of them. In fact you will be surprised if you manage to keep going until the end of January.

But it doesn’t matter because that is part of the game we all play.

What do we resolve to change? – Have you ever noticed that most people’s New Year resolutions are often about giving up the very things that they most enjoy. It’s as if they have to make the resolution as difficult as possible – nobody takes any notice of you if your resolutions are easy.

The more difficult the ‘thing’ that we promise to give up the more sympathy we’ll get from friends when we fail.

  • Me – “I’m giving up chocolate for the New Year.”
  • Friend – “Never! You love chocolate. You’ll never do it. I’ll give you a week.” (Have you noticed how my ‘friend’ is helping to reinforce what I already know, ie “You’ll never do it” and then gives you a get out clause, “I’ll give you a week”)
  • Me – (A week later) – “You were right about the chocolate thing. I only managed 3 days before temptation got the better of me.”
  • Friend – “I told you so. I know you so well, that’s why we’re such good friends. Do you want another chocolate muffin?”

Resolutions I won’t be making. These are some that I’ve tried in the past and failed and if I made them again then I would only be setting myself up to fail again.

  1. Start jogging every day – have you ever seen a happy jogger?
  2. Go to the gym every day – tried that one. The problem is that in the first week of January you feel quite at home. Everyone else is as unfit as you and doesn’t have a clue how any of the machines work. By the end of January most have given up and wishing they hadn’t signed up for a whole year. Those that are left are extremely fit and make you feel even more inadequate and to be honest, need to get a life.
  3. Stop eating chocolate – not a good idea, the latest research suggests that chocolate helps fight off coughs and colds (or am I just making that up?)
  4. Cut down on the wine – would seem such a shame as there are still so many that I’ve not tried and anyway, isn’t their some medical research out there somewhere that says drinking wine is good for you?

My New Year’s resolutions. – Well, to be honest, I’m making any. Instead of creating a list of promises that I’ve no intention of keeping I’m going to play with the following ideas instead. As the year goes on I’ll report back on my progress.

  1. Write more flash fiction and random thoughts like this on my blog. It’s a great way of meeting other writers.
  2. Play with SlideShare – I’ve made one presentation, funnily enough it’s all about ‘Alternative New Year’s Resolutions’ (amazingly 78 people have looked at it!) I plan on making more. It was fun to do. Maybe one about ‘Writing Flash Fiction’?
  3. Play with Crazy Talk – I’m thinking of putting some of my flash fiction stories on to Crazy Talk. That would be different. Watch this blog/space!
  4. Start my own local Writers Group – I’m keen to link up with local writers.
  5. Visit the local coffee shop more often – another excuse to write and watch the world go by.

Well, that’s me sorted for the New Year.

I hope you have a great 2014 and don’t resolve to do too much.

MikeJackson©2013

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

I look forward to reading your comments

