‘Homeward Bound’ – A 100 Word Story For Friday Fictioneers

I saw the prompt from this week’s Friday Fictioneer and this 100 word story came into my head.

Copyright- Jean L. Hays

Homeward Bound

The mysterious message had guided me to the portal. Despite having spent years looking for this gateway back there was something not quite right, something I couldn’t put my finger on. All I had to do was stretch out my hand and the sacred dolphin, guardian of the gate, would pull me safely through. Finally, I’d be home. As I stretched out my hand, I heard his chilling laugh. I tried to step back but it was too late. Something icy cold had a hold of my arm and was dragging me forward. Wherever I was going, it wasn’t home.

MikeJackson©2013

15 thoughts on “‘Homeward Bound’ – A 100 Word Story For Friday Fictioneers

  1. You write of a universal dilemma – there are times we want something so badly and have searched so long in vain, that we’ll ignore our instinct for danger out of the need for the ‘something’. Stephen King exploits this in his novel ‘Needful Things’. I recommend reading it, if you haven’t already. 🙂

I look forward to reading your comments

