Posted in Drabbles

Charlie’s Boots

 

Source
Copyright – Adam Ickes

Every night they’re out there on the porch, a pair of old boots. When I wake in the morning, they’re gone. It’s like someone is visiting me at the end of the day but I don’t know who. I’m all alone out here, have been for years. Ain’t been nobody knocking on my door for a long time. I’ve searched, of course, in case someone’s playing tricks on me but there’s nobody there. Funny thing is they look like my Charlie’s boots, except they can’t be. I buried him and his boots twenty years ago, just after I shot him.

MikeJackson©2013

An intriguing photo prompt this week from Friday Fictioneers. Here’s my 100-word story.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

24 thoughts on “Charlie’s Boots

  1. Yikes!Ghastly ghost of the past sneaking up to demand its pound of flesh I guess ?But then twenty years have passed-maybe it is tine for her to go pay her debts in the other world?A great take ion the prompt Mike-enjoyed it:-)

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

