Posted in Stories

One Day Child, One Day

 

“Peter! Get down this minute before you hurt yourself.”

“But mum, it’s not real. It’s just a dragon made of wood. It can’t fly, or breathe fire or do anything magical. Look, even the teeth are wooden.”

“Peter. Take your hand out of its mouth and get over here at once.”

 ********

Yes Peter, do as your mother tells you. What’s wrong with children nowadays? The clamber all over me, tugging at my wings, putting their grimy fingers in my mouth. It’s all too much.

Wouldn’t have happened when I was in my prime. Oh no, they wouldn’t have dared. The only thing going in my mouth back then would have been him. No wonder my teeth are blunt. It’s ages since I’ve had a decent child to crunch on.

Of course, it’s all the fault of that Dragons Guild. Used to be worth belonging to once upon a time then it got bogged down in rules and regulations, health and safety, risk assessments. First, they stopped us breathing fire. Next came those ludicrous rules making the fighting of knights next to impossible. Then, if things weren’t bad enough, they banned the eating of children.

The final straw was when some bright spark on the committee thought it best all remaining dragons became ornamental. Before we knew what was happening the guild’s chief wizard was out turning us all into stone or wood. That’s how I found myself here, a tourist attraction, stood peering out across the bay. Oh, what I’d give to have my wings back and fly off over those mountain tops.

Now, what’s this child doing? Surely he’s not trying to …..? He is you know. The little bugger’s trying to knock out one of my teeth with a stone. Probably wants it to show his friends. Cheeky little sod.

 *********

“Peter! Put that stone down, you’re going to hurt yourself. Get down now and I’ll buy you an ice cream.”

As Peter dropped the stone and started to clamber down he could have sworn he heard the dragon whispering his name and saying, “One day child, one day.”

MikeJackson©2013

This week is Flash!Friday’s anniversary and the prompt – write a 350-word story with this photo as the prompt. Check out their blog to read some great entries.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

6 thoughts on “One Day Child, One Day

I look forward to reading your comments

