Posted in Micro Fiction

‘I Was There’ – A 33 Word Story For Trifextra

An interesting prompt from Trifecta for this weekend’s 33 word story challenge. We had to use this Rolling Stones song as our inspiration. I took mine from lyrics near the beginning of the song.

I Was There

Been around a long, long time. I was in the crowd when Jesus was tried. It was me who started the cry, ‘Crucify Him’. Later, stood next to Pilate and washed my hands.

MikeJackson©2013

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

16 thoughts on “‘I Was There’ – A 33 Word Story For Trifextra

  1. the worst kind of evil I think, is the one that does it with a cry, a smirk and then washes its hand and heart of any responsibility of it. Remorse isn’t a personality trait that the Devil employs…and for that I find no empathy.

    A good, well written 33.

    Like

  2. Nicely done. This reminds me of a story by Chris Martin that I read recently, I believe it was by the same name. But in his story, the witness was forever changed, but I sensed it was in a good way. So interesting how it comes down to choice – how will the experience affect us?

    I don’t usually post links, and if you want to delete it from my comment, that’s okay. If you want to read the story, it’s here: http://chrismartinwrites.com/2013/10/04/i-was-there/

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments.
      If we don’t hold some responsibility for our own deeds then, I feel, it becomes too easy to blame others when things go wrong.

      Like

    1. Thanks for your comments Jo-Anne, glad you enjoyed it.
      A single word – good or bad – can have such an impact. When we are in crowds we are so easily influenced by others.

      Like

  3. What courage it takes to stand up for Good when the big dogs bark so loudly. It is always easier to bark along with the others than to stand up and oppose them. Think the Holocaust. Think Rwanda. So many participated in the evil. So few stood up. Thanks for a very thought-provoking post.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments.
      I love the notion of ‘barking along with the others’ it is so apt and so true. Standing up against evil can be a lonely and frightening thing – not sure if I’d have the courage t do it?

      Like

I look forward to reading your comments

