Posted in Flash Fiction

‘No Escape’ – A Story For Trifecta

The prompt for this week’s Trifecta challenge is the word ‘animal’. This is what popped into my head. Let me know what you think of it.

jekyll-and-hyde-faces1No Escape

Henry Jekyll  completed the letter. Maybe tonight, having made this decision, he might finally get some semblance of sleep.

Dear Mr. Hyde,

It is with some trepidation that I write this letter. In the few months that we have known each other I have come to realise that you have a quick temper and are easily angered, hence my not delivering this correspondence to you in person.

Too late I realise what a fool I have been. Your easy manner and seemingly jovial countenance certainly had me fooled. I see now that your pretence of friendliness was no more than a clever ploy to get me drunk and encourage me to join with you in committing those terrible crimes. It is with great pain that I recall the hideous animal within me that you brought to the surface.

I am taking myself away from London to a place where I hope you will never find me. I pray that, with God’s help, I might, over time, regain some of my self-respect.

Yours

Dr. Henry Jekyll

When Henry woke in the early hours of the morning it was to find this note sitting on his bedside cabinet.

My Dear Jekyll,

Hide all you like but you know I will find you, I always do.

Your partner in crime.

Edward Hyde

MikeJackson©2013

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

27 thoughts on “‘No Escape’ – A Story For Trifecta

  1. I like this exchange. Even creepier if Hyde manages to leave the response where ever Jekyll has run off to 🙂

    One note: in the following sentence, did you intend for ‘bought’ to be ‘brought’?
    ” It is with great pain that I recall the hideous animal within me that you bought to the surface.”

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

