‘Map Reading’ – A 250 Word Story For Flash! Friday

This is my submission for this week’s picture prompt at ‘Flash! Friday’.

brewtnall_edward_where_nextMap Reading

I fluttered my eyelashes as Sidney spread the map out. What a bore this man was! Had we only been married three days, it felt like forever. Beneath my practised sweet smile I gritted my teeth and thought of his money.

“Are you sure you’re feeling well enough for this my precious, you look a little pale?”

“I’m sorry Sidney, being close to you my darling always makes me feel  light-headed. Please go on.”

“I was just saying, my dearest, this is a map. Don’t look so worried, I wouldn’t expect you to understand it or be able to follow it, I just wanted to show you the route I’ve planned for our excursion this afternoon.”

“Oh Sidney, you are so clever.”

I snuggled up closer and gave him another of my girly looks. Sidney carried on.

“Well my precious, if you look carefully you will see that parts of the map are coloured blue, that’s the sea. This wiggly black line is the route we will take along the coastal path. I’m not going too fast for you sweetheart, am I? You look a little puzzled. Probably best we leave it at that for now.”

I squeezed Sidney’s arm and thanked him for his kindness.

Stupid man! If only he knew of the time I’d spent yesterday poring over this map. I had a clear picture of the route we would be taking. Even more important, I knew exactly where poor Sidney was going to have his fatal accident.

 

MikeJackson©2013

12 thoughts on “‘Map Reading’ – A 250 Word Story For Flash! Friday

I look forward to reading your comments

