‘Extracts From The Diary Of The Pied Piper Of Hamelin In The Year 1284’ – A Story For Trifecta

The prompt this week for Trifecta is the word ‘Charm’

piedpiper04-1Extracts From The Diary Of The Pied Piper Of Hamelin In The Year 1284

March 7th – Rat-catching business is slow. Need to think up new advertising gimmick, before I go broke.

March 12th –Bought myself a new outfit. It’s called pied clothing, very colourful, not what I’d usually wear. Also had some posters made – ‘The Pied Piper – Rat-Catcher Extraordinary’. We’ll see what happens.

March 17th – Good news. Got a message from the Mayor of Hamelin, a small village, other side of the mountain. They’ve an infestation of rats

March 19th – Met the Mayor and Town Council of Hamelin this morning, lovely people. They took me on a tour of the town, rats everywhere. Good money to be made here.

March 22nd  – Finally, the rats have gone. Collecting my gold, first thing in the morning, then off home

March 23rd – What a day! The Mayor and his Town Council  not as friendly as I thought. They’re refusing to pay me unless I sort out another problem. They want me to charm all the children of Hamelin and dispose of them in the same way  I did the rats. Apparently they’ve so many children they’re becoming a drain on resources.

I’ve been promised so much gold  I’ll never have to work again. The problem is, I’ll be expected to take the blame. Their plan is to put out some story about me being angry over the money they were offering and taking it out on the children. I will, of course, be an outcast and reviled through history.

March 24th – It’s late, just leaving Hamelin. The gold was exactly where the Mayor said it would be along with a horse and cart to transport it in.

March 27th – Been home for a couple of days now. There’s a story going round the town about a mysterious disappearance in the nearby town of Hamelin. Seems the Mayor and Town Council have vanished. Rumour is, they were seen following a brightly dressed man, playing a pipe, up into the mountains.

MikeJackson©2013

32 thoughts on “‘Extracts From The Diary Of The Pied Piper Of Hamelin In The Year 1284’ – A Story For Trifecta

  1. Once again, you took me down a road that I wasn’t expecting. This road was much more scenic than the more traveled one. Thanks!

I look forward to reading your comments

