Left On A Park Bench – A Haibun For Trifecta

This weekend’s Trifextra challenge – “… a thirty-three word free-write.  Any topic, any style …”  So I decided on a ‘haibun’ – a short piece of prose finished off with a haiku poem.

park-bench-autumn-1Left On A Park Bench

New pencil, freshly sharpened, poised, ready for the moment. Pristine, blank page beckons. But nothing, despite my very best efforts, absolutely nothing!

left on a park bench,
blunt pencil, empty notebook –
disgruntled writer

MikeJackson©2013

34 thoughts on “Left On A Park Bench – A Haibun For Trifecta

  1. heh, I know that feeling (: I tried the same thing at the beach. I left with more sand in my shoes than words on the paper.

  2. Rather than ‘nothing’, I suspect the writer had so many splendid ideas, he couldn’t focus in on just one!! So impressed you were able to structure a haibun with just 33 words, and such an excellent one at that. Always look forward to reading your responses, Mike :)))

  3. I always think vacation will be an awesome place, inspirational, freeing without the constraints of home and I don’t think I’ve ever written a cohesive piece while away on a beach, in the pines, breathing fresh air. Just. Doesn’t. Work.

    1. I know what you mean, the same happens to me. I wonder why? Now put me in a noisy, crowded coffee shop and the ideas just flow. Maybe my muse is a coffee junkie.
      Thanks for dropping by.

  4. There’s nothing more intimidating than that blank sheet of paper. That’s why I love Trifecta-style prompts: having that word to start with grounds me somehow. It’s like that first scratch on a new car. Once that’s out of the way, it’s so much easier to just go with the flow.

  5. Love this. The haiku is great, but even better for me is the blunt pencil resulting from a sharp one and an ever-blank page.
    Yeah, I also know the feeling…

I look forward to reading your comments

