Posted in On Writing

A Random Thought – Are You Talking To Yourself?

r796866_6978900I read a newspaper article recently  suggesting  the average teenager has a vocabulary of over 40,000 words but they use only 800 on a daily basis.

I was surprised with this as, when my two boys were teenagers, I would have welcomed a daily vocabulary of 8 words, let alone 800!

As with most teenagers, when talking to parents, many of our conversations consisted of a variety of grunts and words like ‘nowhere’, ‘nothing’ and ‘yeah’. These were responses to questions like, “Where are you going?” or  “What have you been doing?” or “You’re not really going out dressed like that are you?”

The only time that they attempted anything  approaching  a full sentence usually went something like …… “Dad, can I borrow some money?” Even that was  a poor use of words because their definition of ‘borrow’ and mine had nothing whatsoever in common.

We seem to live in an age when words appear to be at a premium. Those who use Twitter a lot will know that there is the restriction of 140 characters per Tweet.

Many people use a completely different and often unintelligible text ‘speak’. I wonder if this is linked to the fast paced life that we are almost forced to live nowadays?

Words are so important, as highlighted by the following quote:

Watch your thoughts, they become your words.
Watch your words, they become your actions.
Watch your actions, they become your habits.
Watch your habits, they became your character.
Watch your character, it becomes your destiny.

We talk to ourselves every day, thousands of conversations, all reinforcing our attitudes and beliefs.

Have you ever noticed that if someone says something unpleasant to you, you then replay that conversation over and over again in your head. If the words used were associated with some emotions then those emotions come flooding back each time you have that talk with yourself.

You only need someone to tell you once that you are rubbish you will then take over and repeat that conversation to yourself until you begin to believe it.

It is so important that we use the words that we do so carefully.

It is equally as important that when someone says something negative to you that you don’t give it credence by accepting it and then replaying it inside your head until it becomes the ‘truth’.

Have you been talking to yourself today? If so, what did you say?

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

6 thoughts on “A Random Thought – Are You Talking To Yourself?

  1. Hah!! I did a post on not finding the right words as a rejoinder, and then ages after kicking oneself… Why do we always do this?.. and so true, about giving too much credence to another persons snide remark… which is replayed in slow motion by a brain which seems to enjoy our frustration and agony … erm… What have I said to myself today?… Lots of things… but I’ve decided not to take any notice… 😉 xPenx

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments Pen.
      Apparent;ly we have thousands of conversations with ourselves every day, I know I do. Fortunately, like you, I try not to take too much notice of myself!

      Like

  2. Hi. This is Mubashir Zaidi, a Pakistani journalist and story writer. I am going to publish a book of 100 short stories and I have selected one of yours. Would you please allow me to translate “Timing” into Urdu? I will acknowledge you in my book and promise to send you its copies.

    Like

    1. Hi Mubashir,
      It is very kind of you to want to use one of my stories in your book. I’m more than happy for you to do so. I look forward to reading the book. Good luck with it.

      Like

  3. Not so much to myself, but I do talk to my cats. (Yes, I’m one of THOSE people.)
    Granted, it wasn’t the most thrilling conversation.

    “Aww, look at you two. Are you comfy there?

    Did you miss me while I was out?

    Helloooo?

    Okay then.”

    (I’m rather enjoying your random thoughts, Mike — keep it up!)

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments. I wasn’t sure about including these random thoughts of mine in this blog but as long as there’s at least one person out there enjoying them then I’ll carry on.
      One good thing about talking to your cats is that at least they are not going to answer you back or disagree with you.

      Like

I look forward to reading your comments

