Posted in Drabbles

It’s A Long Way Down

Photo Source
Photo Source

“What happens when we get to the top?”

“Then you jump.”

“What do you mean ‘jump’. I ain’t jumping. It’s a long way down, it’ll kill me.”

“We know.”

“Well I ain’t jumping, you can forget about that.”

“Don’t worry, you won’t have to actually jump. We’re going to push you off the edge. We just need it to look like you jumped.”

“Nobody’ll believe I jumped. Why should I?”

“They’ll believe it. You’re depressed. Says so in your note.”

“What note?”

“The one we’re going to put in your jacket pocket. Explains it all. Now shut up and keep moving, we’re almost there.”

MikeJackson©2013

This week’s photo prompt for Friday Fictioneers.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

29 thoughts on “It’s A Long Way Down

  1. As Riley (William Bendix) said in the old TV show entitled, The Life of Riley.

    “What a revoltin’ development this is.”

    Good story line told through excellently paced dialogue. Witty and wry.
    Well told.
    Randy

    Like

  2. I agree with t – fabulous dialogue, very realistic. I could see the scene playing out in my head. Not sure what it says about you, though, if you see a beautiful spiral staircase and think murder or suicide???!!!

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

