The Report – A Story For Trifecta Challenge: Week Sixty-Six

The word for this week’s Trifecta challenge is ‘Doctor’ and the third definition is:
3a: material added (as to food) to produce a desired result
  b: a blade (as of metal) for spreading a coating or scraping a surface
 

The Report

“Shit! This is a lot worse than I was expecting. It’s no good Billy, I can’t let that report go out as it is. Have you any idea the damage it could do me? We’ve no choice, we’re going to have to doctor it.”

“What do you mean, ‘we’ Jimmy. It’s nothing to do with me. I warned you, remember, told you this was likely to happen but you wouldn’t listen. Sorry mate, you’re on your own.”

“Come on Billy, don’t be like that. We’ve been through a lot together, you and me, surely you’re not going to abandon me now, are you?

“Yeah, but this serious Jimmy. What if we get caught?”

“Trust me, we won’t. We just slip into the main office later tonight , you can hack into the computer and leave me to change the report. We’ll be in and out in 15 minutes and nobody will know a thing.”

“Sorry Jimmy, I can’t do it. You’re just going to have to accept the fact that you’ve screwed up. Maybe things won’t be that bad.”

“You must be joking! You know what my dad’s like. He’ll have a fit when he reads that school report. He’s going to ground me forever and it’ll all be your fault.”

MikeJackson©2013

19 thoughts on “The Report – A Story For Trifecta Challenge: Week Sixty-Six

  1. Ha!I imagined that they are young men talking about some appraisal reports too!Clever & surprise ending with them turning out to be kids!Am glad that Billy was strong enough not to give in to Jimmy’s bullying/ emotional blackmailing tactics & that he stood his ground:-)

  2. Nicely written – I also thought they were older and talking about work. If he put as much effort into his schoolwork as he did into concocting a devious plan and guilting his friend into helping, he wouldn’t be in this predicament in the first place 🙂

I look forward to reading your comments

