Posted in Flash Fiction, Haibun

‘Death’ – A Haibun For Trifecta

I thought I might try something different for this week’s Trifecta challenge by writing a haibun. For those of you who don’t know, very simply, a haibun is a piece of prose followed by a haiku. The prompt this week is:
PATH:
3a : course, route
b : a way of life, conduct, or thought

death11Death

It’s been so long I can’t remember how I first started out on this path. Did I choose it, or was it a responsibility thrust upon me in my youth? If I’m honest, I no longer care. It’s just a job, a thankless but necessary task, a monotonous, daily routine. Somebody has to do it, to usher people from life to death, from this world to the next. Some see me coming and are grateful for the release, others try to avoid me, but to no avail. I’m growing weary of my responsibilities. I pray that soon, someone new will be chosen to tread this path, let’s hope the first person they come looking for, is me.

daily, I collect
the souls of the departed –
who will come for mine

MikeJackson©2013

Click here – Trifecta: Week Sixty-Three – to see how others responded to this prompt.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

27 thoughts on “‘Death’ – A Haibun For Trifecta

  1. I love the idea that Death is a job passed from person to person and really thought this string of words was excellent: I pray that soon, someone new will be chosen to tread this path, let’s hope the first person they come looking for, is me.

    Like

  2. Everyday I learn something new-today from your post I learnt about “Haibun”-& what a fascinating example of the same this is!Never thought of death as someone carrying his duties & feeling bored or wanting release-loved this very creative & original idea-hope to see you in the top 3 this week:-)

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments.
      I enjoy writing haibun, having said that this is the first one I’ve done for a while. I have put a link in a couple of the comments above to a site called ‘Contempoary Haibun’ where there are some tremendous examples.

      Like

I look forward to reading your comments

