Heartless – A 100 Word Story For ‘Friday Fictioneers’

A 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers. Some people have no heart whatsoever.

copyright-claire-fuller-1Heartless

“What do think you’re playing at! Stop running your bony fingers through my hair, and take that bloody tongue of yours out of my ear, it gives me the creeps.”

“Sorry love, but it’s what I’m meant to do. It’s called passion. We’re in love.”

“Passion! Love! Don’t know what the hell you’re talking about. You do come out with some rubbish at times. By the way, I hope you’re not thinking of putting those cold lips of yours on my neck?”

“Don’t worry my sweetest one. It will all become clear once he’s carved out your heart.”

MikeJackson©2013

Click here – Friday Fictioneers – to read more.

49 thoughts on “Heartless – A 100 Word Story For ‘Friday Fictioneers’

  1. I really loved this, partially because my understanding of the piece changed with each consecutive reading. The first time I found it a little creepy, actually, but by the 3rd (4th?) reading, when I thought of it more as a literal iteration of the carvings’ thoughts, I found it really really sweet. Love the language.

  2. That’s a different way of looking at the pic. Her thoughts will change and she’ll be in love with him once the heart is carved.. So unique in its approach.

  3. I liked that you took the POV of the people in the carvings and found it interesting that you brought the heart into the story in this way. I also enjoyed the way you linked having a heart to being in love and having passion because of that.

    janet

    1. Thank you for your comments Janet.
      Every time I looked at the picture I was drawn to that heart – something sketched out but not yet completed.

  4. The path of true love never runs smooth if there’s limestone in the way! I like the funny dialog – I hesitate to call it lifelike; that just doesn’t seem right for talking stone 😉 Anyway, it’s good.

I look forward to reading your comments

