Posted in Flash Fiction

Are Any Of Your Family Aliens?

‘Don’t touch the floor ….’ one of the great prompts from Stephanie over at Inspiration Monday. Made me think of the dangers that surround us. Here is my 220 word story.

Don’t Touch The Floor!

They hung from two nylon ropes, just feet from the ground. They’d been there for almost 20 minutes. Jimmy’s arms were beginning to ache.

“Remember Jimmy, whatever happens, don’t touch the floor.”

“Not sure I can hang on Freddy. We’ve been here a long time and my arms are hurting like hell. What about if I drop down gently?”

“Do that and you’re a goner. This whole area has been activated. If you touch the ground half a dozen lasers will immediately hone in on you. You’d be disintegrated in a second.”

“What are we going to do then Freddy? I haven’t got the strength to climb back up and I can’t stay like this for much longer.”

“Just hang on a bit longer Jimmy. I sent a message back to HQ, hopefully a rescue squad will be here once they’ve worked out our co-ordinates.”

“I don’t think we’ve got that long Freddy. Look. There’s something coming towards us.”

*********

“Did you two boys hear me? I’ve been calling you for ages. Your teas ready. Now get down from those ropes and go wash your hands.”

Jimmy looked across at Freddy,

“Freddy, how come your Mum didn’t get zapped by the laser guns.”

“Don’t know Jimmy, though I’ve a suspicion she may be one of the aliens.”

MikeJackson©2013

Click here – InMon – and see what other prompts were on offer.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

9 thoughts on “Are Any Of Your Family Aliens?

    1. Didn’t we just. I feel sorry for the children today, so wrapped up to keep them ‘safe’ they aren’t allowed to have adventures.
      Thanks for your comments.

      Like

I look forward to reading your comments

