Posted in Flash Fiction

Mid-Life Crisis – A Story For Inspiration Monday

It seems such a long time since I wrote a story for ‘Inspiration Monday’. The prompts this week were as great as usual.

Mid-Life Crisis

“Good morning sir, how can I help you?”

“Hello. It’s about the special offer you’ve been advertising. Is it still running?”

“It certainly is sir, you’ve come at just the right time, today is the last day. If I could just take a few details, then I’ll check to see if we can do it today.”

“Today!  I  wasn’t expecting it to happen so quickly. I thought I’d have to wait a few weeks.”

“This is a very popular procedure sir, but here at “Happy Memories’ we don’t like to keep people waiting. Now if I could just take those details. Your name and age  please sir.”

“Jackson, Martin Jackson.  I’m 45 years old, nearly 46. I’m not too old am I?”

“Not at all sir. You’d be surprised how many people of your age we see. Now sir, was  it our basic package  you were looking at or our deluxe package. We are offering an extra 20% discount on that one if you sign up today?”

“To be honest I’m not sure. Is there a lot of difference?”

“Well sir, for the basic package we can replace all those memories that keep you awake at night as well as twenty memories of your choice. If however, you go for the deluxe package then that entitles you to a complete refit .”

“So if I went for the deluxe package I’d come out a completely new man, new memories, all my problems gone.”

“Exactly sir. You won’t recognise yourself. Now, I can book you in for later this afternoon, how does 3.30 sound?”

MikeJackson©2012

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

8 thoughts on “Mid-Life Crisis – A Story For Inspiration Monday

  1. great story but sadly, it brought these lyrics to mind from “The Way We Were”:

    Memories
    Light the corners of my mind
    Misty watercolor memories
    Of the way we were…

    Can it be that it was all so simple then
    Or has time rewritten every line
    If we had the chance to do it all again
    Tell me – Would we? Could we?

    Memories
    May be beautiful and yet
    What’s too painful to remember
    We simply choose to forget…

    Randy

    Like

    1. Wow, Mike, deep stuff here! Loved the story, it leaves me pondering if I would want to sign up for either procedure. If we erased all our memories, would we still be who we are?

      Like

I look forward to reading your comments

