Waiting – 100 Word Story for Friday Fictioneers

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields has taken over the organising of ‘Friday Fictioneers’. Today’s prompt, one of Rochelle’s own photos, was intriguing.

Waiting

I sat by the window, nursing my third latte of the morning, wondering what was keeping them. Surely they’d found him by now.

I’d rehearsed what I was going to say a dozen times inside my head but I knew, when it came to it, I’d go and get all tongue-tied. I always did. Every time this happens I get so nervous. You’d think by now I’d be used to it.

Maybe this time round I should keep it brief, cut out the excuses and the hysterics, just a simple, “Yes Officer, I killed him,” would probably be enough.

MikeJackson©2012

26 thoughts on “Waiting – 100 Word Story for Friday Fictioneers

  1. ooh, intriguing. I like how it’s “this time”, suggesting this isn’t his first murder, or even the first time he’s had the cops come calling. There’s so much behind this piece, it feels like the first paragraph of a novel.

    1. Many thanks for your comments.
      Funny you saw the murderer as a ‘he’ I saw a ‘her’
      I think I might use this as a start for one of the longer stories I’m writing for NaNoWriMo.

  2. Great surprise ending! And it really makes the preceding paragraph sound sinister (and yet funny, because it’s so inappropriate) – “Every time this happens I get so nervous. You’d think by now I’d be used to it.” How many times has she had these conversations with the cops?!?

  3. Mike, I think we’re going to change your bio. From now on, it should start, “Now that I’m retired I have more time to devote to waiting. And drinking latte after latte. just waiting….” Love the understatement here.

  4. Wonder why he’s sitting there drinking lattes knowing they are coming after him? Why is he not running and hiding? Or is he tired of running and hiding, considering this is not his first murder. Might as well get his fill of lattes…won’t be any where he’s going. Clink. Clink. Nice work.

  5. Coming here from your link on Five Sentence Fiction (“Business”), I am really enjoying the stories I’m finding here, and have added you to my reader and blogroll. I love your creativity and diversity!

I look forward to reading your comments

