Posted in Flash Fiction

The Hospital Bed – Day 5

Stephanie over at ‘BeKindRewrite‘ is once again hosting ‘Voice Week’ – “Voice Week is an experimental writing challenge to help us stretch our versatility in voice and tone. Each Voice Week participant writes five versions of the same story – from five different points of view. Then, October 1 through 5, we post, compare, sharpen, and grow.”

Here is my 100 word story for Day 5 and my fifth voice.

 

The Hospital Bed

Look at them all, they can’t wait. I’m sorry to have to say this Jimmy but there’s a lot of people looking forward to your death. It’s a shame it had to be this way my love. I hadn’t planned for this to happen, well, not yet anyway. If only you hadn’t gone on about wanting a divorce. I’ve managed to convince the police it was an accident. That Chief Inspector has been such a sweetie. Well Jimmy, time to go, just one more act to play out, then the distraught wife becomes the rich, grieving widow.
“OK Doctor, you can do it now.”

MikeJackson©2012
Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

17 thoughts on “The Hospital Bed – Day 5

  1. Mike, I love all your voices. Maybe we could team up together sometime? I just can’t say enough. How you basically tied everything together and gave us a complete story in just 5 days? I wasn’t able to do that, wasn’t even thinking that way. Now I feel like I cheated any one who read my stuff. There was no payoff with mine. OK, next year!

    Like

  2. I couldn’t believe even the doctor just wanted something from him. Poor Jimmy! Great ending – I love how you’ve tied it all together into a little murder story too. Great job!

    Like

  3. Ah! True love! A wife and her inheritance. Nice ending, and the Chief Insp, such a sweetie. Sucker for fluttery eyelashes more like!

    Great week, Mike. Thanks

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

