Posted in Flash Fiction

‘The Box’ – An Unexpected Fairy Tale

Here is my entry for ‘Once Upon A Time Writing Contest’ – the theme is unexpected fairy tales with a word limit of 350 words or less. Some great entries, why not have a look.

The Box

He was wandering between the shelves, marvelling at all the junk, when he heard the voice,

“Excuse me young man. I wonder if you could help me? I’m over here, top shelf, near the back, next to the skulls.”

He looked on the top shelf and there, nestled between some grotesque skulls and two green glass jars, was a small wooden box. Lifting it down and giving it a   shake, he whispered, “Is there someone in there?”

 “Yes there is and that someone would be grateful if you would stop shaking him about.”

“Sorry, but I’ve never seen a box before that’s got a person inside it. What are you doing in there?

 “It’s a long story. All you need to know is that I’m a Genie and I’ve been locked in here for a long time. Now if you could just let me out.”

“A Genie! I thought they only came in lamps?”

“Normally they do, but the person who put me in here was in a bit of a hurry and lamps were in short supply.”

“But how do I get you out? There’s no lid. Shall I get a hammer and smash it open?”

“Don’t you dare!  All you need to do is rub the box three times.”

“But that’s what you do with lamps? Are you sure it’s the same with boxes?”

“What is it with little boys and questions? Just do it!”

“OK, but what’s in it for me?  Aren’t you supposed to give me a wish or something for rescuing you?”

“Get me out of here and I’ll give you anything you want. Just stop talking and rub the bloody box!”

“Alright! Alright! But first I have to ask my mum. Mum, can I rub this box three times and let the Genie out? He says he’ll grant me a wish if I do.”

“Don’t be silly Aladdin. What have I told you before about touching things in shops. Put that box back on the shelf before you break it and come over here where I can keep an eye on you.”

MikeJackson©2012

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

6 thoughts on “‘The Box’ – An Unexpected Fairy Tale

I look forward to reading your comments

