Posted in Haiku, Poetry

Doubt

I’ve just discovered that ‘Haiku Heights’ has set a challenge to write a haiku each day of April. A little late, but here goes. The prompt for today is ‘doubt’.  The first two follow the 3-5-3 syllable format, the others the more traditional 5-7-5 syllabi format.

you promised
it would be OK –
didn’t you?

unsteady
footsteps down the aisle –
big mistake

~~~~~~~~~

the whispers of doubt
are quietened by his presence –
but they will return

the look in her eyes
highlights his uncertainty –
seeds of doubt well sown

he stared at the gun
doubting her resolve to fire –
a foolish mistake

MikeJackson©2012

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

16 thoughts on “Doubt

    1. PS…the laugh, pardon me if my remark was offensive, was that I KNEW she’d shoot,
      and one should never doubt someone would shoot a gun. Your ending was so perfect in my eyes.
      I apologize if my comment was inappropriate…I got thinking about it and thought, OMg, what a thing for me to say.
      Peace,
      Siggi in Downeast Maine

      Like

      1. Thank you for your comments Siggi and no apology needed.
        I’m grateful that my writing might sometimes impact on people in different ways.

        Like

I look forward to reading your comments

